After the city of Prato donated the land to the Franciscan brothers, the decision was made to build a convent and small church in 1282. The church was a “first” as it was constructed entirely in brick rather than in stone. However, the facade boasts a serpentine and alberese marble front.
An elegant door was built during the Renaissance, as was the triangular tympanum with a relief featuring the Stigmata of Saint Francis by Andrea della Robbia.The interior boasts a central nave which highlights a pulpit from the 15th century in pietra serena featuring a panel from 1400. A 14th century wooden crucifix is positioned above the main altar which was donated by renowned merchant Francesco Datini. The latter was buried inside the church; his tomb is denoted by a white marble stone and Gothic tabernacle.
The east side of the Renaissance cloister opens into a 14th century chapel, the Cappella del Capitolo, adorned with frescoes by Niccolò Gerini with stories from the lives of Saints Matthew, Saint Anthony Abate and a crucifixion. The southern side of the cloister features beautiful rooms from the first part of the 14th century.